Tower of Babel

Ephemeral architecture made of books

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Buenos Aires, Argentina

During my travel to Buenos Aires, Argentina I found this interesting project at Plaza San Martin “The Tower of Babel made of books”, of 25 meters height and seven floors. It was still in process by the time I was visiting this City. Some people were opening boxes of books to put them on the tower to complete it. It was called Tower of Babel because it is made up of different language books from around the world, and the idea was to complete it with 30,000 books.

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Buenos Aires, Argentina

The author, Marta Minujin, defined this project as “mass participation art process”. I would love to know what happened with those books at the end of this exhibition. A great idea would be to distribute them for free, and to have a permanent exchange program of those books. Do you have another idea?

12 thoughts on “Tower of Babel

  1. Wow! A tower of human learning and dreams. I just wonder what happens if it rains. Are the books protected from getting wet? Very stunning work of ART. Happy New Year!

    • Hello Island traveler! “A tower of human learning and dreams”? Wow! Yours is certainly a very beautiful interpretation of the tower, I love it. What I saw when I approached to the tower was that each book was inside of a transparent plastic bag that was hanging in the structure of the tower, so the books were protected in that way. Kind greetings and happy new year for you and your family too!

    • Hello Yahobahne! I think it’s great to be impressed by different art proposals, like this Tower, that is how I felt when I saw it during my travel. I thank you for visiting my blog and for your comment about my pictures.
      Kind greetings,
      Marianne

  2. Thank you for being in the right place at the right time. I really enjoy your images and story of what I call Buenos Aires Tower of Learning. I agree with artisticmilestone about a symbol of education for all. Your blog looks fascinating. I’m now on your Follow list.

  3. Pingback: A words: ARGENTINA | Exploring the world

Leave a Reply

