Santa Monica Pier

Santa Monica, California

Santa Monica, California

This is the Pacific park, an amusement park located on Santa Monica Pier where I enjoy to take promenades with my family when I travel to California to visit them. There are rides and attractions for kids and adults, like a five-story West Coaster roller coaster, the nine-story Pacific Plunge tower ride, the only over-water miniature golf course, and the nine-story Pacific Wheel ferris wheel – the only over-water ferris wheel in California, and the first solar-powered wheel in the world! The Carousel is a National Historic Landmark. This 1922 Looff Hippodrome Carousel is where Paul Newman worked in The Sting. The are some other movies that have scenes filmed here. Do you remember some?

Santa Monica Pier, California

Santa Monica Pier, California

At Santa Monica Pier, you can also find the Trapeze School of New York which is dedicated to make flying trapeze available to anyone who seeks inspiration, challenge, fitness or just a couple hours of unique fun. Do you want to fly? – See more at: http://losangeles.trapezeschool.com/about/index.php#sthash.8BZd0qQ6.dpuf

Santa Monica Pier, California

Santa Monica Pier, California

Another place to visit with children is the Playland Arcade with over 200 games and attractions, from the classic to the contemporary.

Santa Monica Pier, California

Santa Monica Pier, California

Or you can take an ocean front walk where you can find  shops and restaurants, visit the Santa Monica Pier Acuarium,

Santa Monica Pier, California

Santa Monica Pier, California

watch beautiful sunsets

Santa Monica Pier, California

Santa Monica Pier, California

Santa Monica, California

Santa Monica, California

or enjoy the lights in the night.

Santa Monica Pier

Santa Monica Pier

7 thoughts on “Santa Monica Pier

  1. Nice, and I’m sure I’ve seen this place in more than one film. Btw, your blog presentation is really good but this buttons like “comment” or “+” should be a bit more visible.

    • I have seen this place in other movies too, or at least I think it’s the same place, like The Lost Boys, which I saw when I was a child. Somebody is telling me right now that the movie Falling Down ends in the same place. I guess there are many more.
      Thanks for telling me about the buttons, I will check at my settings if I can make them darker.
      Kind greetings,
      Marianne

  2. Wow! Santa Monica Pier not only is loaded with exciting, thrilling tides but has a beautiful, rich history and magical sunsets. Hope one dat I get to see it in person. I would like to try the trapeze. Have a great weekend and all the best to you and your family.

  3. Pingback: Carefree | Exploring the world

Leave a Reply

